John Archibald Student Scholarship

Home  /  Scholarships  /  John Archibald Student Scholarship

John Archibald ASET Scholarship

John Archibald, M.A., R. EEG/EP T., first came to EEG after assisting with the rehabilitation of his sister who had suffered a stroke. He entered the EEG training program at Phoenix College in 1978. After he finished the program, he was hired at St. Joseph’s Hospital in Phoenix. His intense interest in the field of neurophysiology motivated him to obtain a B.S. in psychology and a masters degree in physiological psychology. John was always interested in moving the neurodiagnostic field forward in knowledge and understanding, and everyone who knew him know his first real love was teaching others what he had learned.

In December 1995, John Archibald was diagnosed with multiple metastatic brain tumors. His condition steadily declined and he passed away the following June. After his diagnosis, John’s many co-workers and friends at St. Joseph’s Hospital created a fund in his name. John subsequently requested that any money collected be used to create an ASET scholarship that would reflect his desires: to support a student in an accredited neurodiagnostic training program to attend the ASET Annual Conference. The John Archibald Student Scholarship was established in 1996. The scholarship was first awarded at the 1997 annual meeting.

The John Archibald Student Scholarship is awarded annually to assist a student to attend the ASET annual conference. The award consists of cash for travel purposes as well as a waiver of the annual conference registration fee.

Approximately four months prior to the ASET annual conference, the ASET Director of Education mails letters and applications to accredited neurodiagnostic training programs. Students complete the application and return it to the Director of Education by the stated deadline, along with a letter of reference from the program director. If a student is enrolled in a program at time of application, the award remains available even if a student graduates prior to the annual conference.

Completed applications are reviewed by a selection committee made up of representatives of the Directors Council for Neurodiagnostic Education, the ASET Foundation Board of Directors, and the ASET Director of Education. The scholarship recipient is selected based on the content of the application and letter of reference, and not solely on academics and/or financial need.

The scholarship is funded from the interest on the restricted fund established in the name of John Archibald and individual donations to the fund. The cash value of the scholarship is determined annually based on the availability of funds.

Foundation Chair Sherry Nehamkin (R) presents scholarship to 2018 Recipient Jessica Potter

Eligibility Criteria

  • Student must be an ASET member in good standing.
  • Must be a current student enrolled in an accredited neurodiagnostic training program.
  • If currently enrolled in a program at time of application, the award remains available even if student graduates prior to the annual conference.
  • Students are not eligible to receive the award two consecutive years.
  • The application must be accompanied by a letter of reference from the neurodiagnostic program director.
  • Must be available to attend the entire length of the annual conference.

Past Recipients

2018 Jessica Potter, Nashville, TN
2017 Susana Ines Brugues Seleme, San Diego, CA
2016 Anna Evans, Bellevue, WA
2015 Latreece Holliday, Kansas City, MO
2014 Kathleen Lear, Chandler, AZ
2013 None Awarded
2012 Maura Mallowe, Newtown Square, PA
2011 Amy Carter, Covington, GA
2010 Meredith Belle Milton, Indianapolis, IN
2009 Kristin Parrish, Waco, TX
2007 Deborah Green, Kingston, MA
2006 Melissa Morrigan Murphy, Boston, MA
2005 Christine Eber, Brunswick, OH
2004 Jody M. Rittmer, Sabula, IA
2003 Roberta Sausville, Boston, MA
2001 Tabitha Bartels, Toronto, IA
1997 Sheila Smith, Springfield, IL